Gibraltar's Brexit Committee meet to discuss EU Withdrawal Bill

The purpose of the meeting was for members to receive a power point presentation on the bill by members of the legal drafting team.

The Chief Minister the Hon Fabian Picardo QC MP, who had convened the meeting last week, opened the session and explained the background. 

The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill was first published as a Command Paper on 27 November 2018 and it was then published as a Bill on 20 December 2018.

The Government was represented by the Deputy Chief Minister Dr Joseph Garcia MP, the Minister for Education and the Environment the Hon Professor John Cortes MP, the Minister for Commerce the Hon Albert Isola MP and the Minister for Infrastructure and Planning the Hon Paul Balban MP.

The Opposition were represented by the Hon Daniel Feetham QC MP and the Hon Trevor Hammond MP from the GSD Opposition, as well as the Hon Marlene Hassan Nahon MP from the Together Gibraltar Opposition.

The Government, which has a majority on the Committee, agreed that other GSD MPs who are not Members of the Committee could be present for the briefing. Both the Leader of the Opposition the Hon Elliott Philips MP and the Hon Roy Clinton MP availed themselves of the opportunity to be briefed at first hand.

The Members of the Select Committee on Exiting the European Union have now met in formal and informal session nearly twenty times. In the main these have consisted of detailed briefings on the on-going negotiations to leave the European Union. This was the first time that the Committee has met for a briefing on a public document.

More from Local News

Currently Playing


  • Fri


  • Sat


  • Sun


  • Mon


  • Tue