Ministers and officials met in London today to discuss EU departure

A meeting was held in London today with over thirty ministers and officials in order to discuss no deal plans and our departure from the European Union.

A statement from No.6 reads: 

Over thirty Ministers and officials from the United Kingdom and Gibraltar Governments met in London today to discuss our departure from the European Union in a Joint Ministerial Council.

The Gibraltar team was led by the Chief Minister Fabian Picardo and included the Deputy Chief Minister Dr JosephGarcia, theAttorney General Michael Llamas andthe Financial Secretary Albert Mena.

The UK delegation was led by the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Exiting the EU Robin Walker and included the Minister for Europe Sir Alan Duncan, Armed Forces Minister Mark Lancaster, Treasury Minister John Glen and Mims Davies, Minister at the Department of Culture, Media and Sport.

The meeting was updated on the planning for a no deal Brexit both in Gibraltar and in the United Kingdom. This is in line with the policy of the Government to prepare for every eventuality. A general discussion on the future arrangements also took place.

Before the JMC,the Chief Minister and theChancellor ofthe Duchy of Lancaster, de facto Deputy Prime Minister, David Lidington, signed a Concordat between the UK and Gibraltar Governments. This is part of the package of documents that make clear the context in which the implementation ofthe Withdrawal Agreement has been concluded between the two Governments.

It is a highly significant document which upholds the primacy of the Parliament, the Government and the competent authorities of Gibraltar. Given the current political situation at Westminster, this is part ofthe preparations for EU Exit with a Withdrawal Agreement in place.

The Chief Minister and the Deputy Chief Minister will also use the visit to London to meet with senior Members of Parliament.

More from Local News

Currently Playing


  • Fri


  • Sat


  • Sun


  • Mon


  • Tue